top of page

NASS Superintendent of the Year

This recognition is based on evidence of outstanding achievement as a school district superintendent, demonstrated belief in continuous improvement, and commitment to collaboration and mutual support in the profession.

The NASS Superintendent of the Year Selection Panel, including Dr. Jim Capolupo and Dr. Rob Clayton, and led by Dr. Jill Gildea, named Lisa Harrod 2023 Finalist and  Kirk Koennecke 2023 NASS Superintendent of the Year.

NASS 2023 Superintendent of the Year

Koennecke Kirk CROPPED.jpg

Kirk Koennecke

Indian Hill School District, Cincinnati, Ohio

Superintendent Kirk Koennecke is a veteran educational leader; with 18 years of experience in administration and 27 years of service to students, he is in his fourth year at the Indian Hill School District in Cincinnati, Ohio. Koennecke's tenure is marked by significant achievements, including the successful passage of a historic Bond Levy, the first in 20 years. His strategic plan, the "IH Promise," developed during the pandemic, has become a national model for strategic planning in education.

NASS 2022 Superintendent of the Year

Clayton Rob 4.jpg

NASS 2023 Superintendent of the Year Finalist

Lisa Harrod

Manteno Community School District No. 5, Manteno, Illinois

Superintendent Lisa Harrod's leadership philosophy centers on creating a positive culture and climate where teachers are motivated and students are central to every decision.  With her commitment to continuous improvement and innovation in education, Harrod has made significant strides in her district, particularly in curriculum alignment and leadership development.

bottom of page